The Hondsrug UNESCO Global Geopark Foundation

Stichting De Hondsrug UNESCO Global Geopark

RSIN nummer:

KvK 853453974

BTW nummer:


Postal adress:

Bronnegerstraat 12
9531TG Borger


0599 725 009


Goals of the foundation

  • The Hondsrug Unesco Geopark tells the story of the origins and history of the area
  • The 3 core values are the Ice Ages, the treasure of archaeology and the cultural landscape
  • The aim is to strengthen and protect the qualities of the Hondsrug region
  • Based on the strong area identity and international image that the UNESCO status provides
  • Education, experience and research are central to this
  • Sustainability is our top priority in everything we do
  • The Geopark and UNESCO status acts as a starting point to further develop and promote the area in cooperation with all partners


The De Hondsrug UNESCO Global Geopark is recognized as an ANBI. The Province of Drenthe, the Recreatieschap Drenthe, and the Hondsrug municipalities of Aa and Hunze, Borger-Odoorn, Coevorden, Emmen, Tynaarlo, and Groningen help to make the operations of the De Hondsrug UNESCO Global Geopark possible.


Foundation Board

  • Jacob Bruintjes, chairman
  • Gertjan Elzinga, treasurer
  • Dick Dijkstra, advisor
  • Caroline Warmerdam

The members of the board only receive a travel allowance.


Cathrien Posthumus, manager Email:

Melissa Luisman, marketing and communication, event coordination, promotion team, guides Email:

Leo Bouwmeester, landscape and education project officer Email: l.bouwmeester@dehondsrug,nl

Secretariat, Email:

The foundation’s employees are bound by the Assen Municipality’s Collective Labour Agreement.

Scientific commitee

  • Erik Meijles, Director of Education and Associate Professor Landscape Geography, chairman
  • Enno Bregman, Fysical geographer
  • Michiel Gerding, former provincial historian Drenthe
  • Mans Schepers, associate professor in the Faculty of Arts at the RUG
  • Brigitte Nitsch, Associate professor of Sustainable Tourism at Stenden University of Applied Sciences
  • Bernhard Hanskamp, former provincial planner Drenthe